Research Skills: Theses and Business Projects

DART-Europe: e-Theses Portal
DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia who are working together to improve global access to European research theses. DART-Europe is endorsed by LIBER (Ligue des Bibliothèques Européennes de Recherche), and it is the European Working Group of the NDLTD.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD).

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs).

EThOS: e-theses Online Service
Search over 500,000 UK doctoral theses. Download instantly for your research, or order a scanned copy quickly and easily. Note that Oxford and Cambridge do not participate in this scheme so contact them directly:
Bodleian Library, Oxford
Cambridge University Library
 

Graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.

• Dublin Business School IR - DBS eSource (Dublin Business School Open Access Repository)
• Dublin City University IR - DORAS (DCU Online Research Access Service)
• Dundalk Institute of Technology IR  - STÓR (TUD Open Access Repository)
• Health Service Executive IR - LENUS (The Irish Health Repository)
• Mary Immaculate College IR - Mary Immaculate College Institutional Repository & Digital Archive
• Maynooth University IR - Maynooth University ePrint and eTheses Archive
• NUIG IR - ARAN (Access to Research at NUIG)
• Royal College of Surgeons Ireland IR - e-publications
• SETU - Waterford Libraries Open Access Repository 
• Teagasc IR - T-Stór (Teagasc’s Open Access Repository)
• Technological University Dublin - ARROW (Archiving Research Resources on the Web)
• Trinity College Dublin IR - TARA (Trinity's Access to Research Archive)
• University College Cork IR - CORA (Cork Open Research Archive)
• University College Dublin IR - Research_Online@UCD
• University Limerick IR  - Discover Research at UL 

Literature Review

A literature review or 'lit review' is often required for a large written body of work (including theses and dissertations). A review acts as a foundation to a research project. It should include analysis and evaluation of current work and research in that area/topic, reference to relevant resources, while also identifying themes and research gaps that the composer of the review wants to address. It should demonstrate a writer's ability to comprehend, summarise, and synthesise research.

Composing a literature review can seem intimidating but there are always resources and approaches to breaking down this task.  Always ask your lecturer or project supervisor for tips when composing your review. 

Consult the below resources at the library and online

• Systematic Searching - how to search systematically for information that you might need for research, for a literature review, publication, or report. This is an excellent interactive training course for ANYONE conducting research.
• How to write a literature review - a thorough resource on how to compose a lit review from Scribbr (reference management tool) with tips, resources, and a presentation.
• SAGE Research Methods Project Planner - has a section dedicated to lit review composing. 
• There is a Research Collection at the library, including the following titles 
  • Research methods: the basics,  Nicholas Walliman, @ 001.4 WAL  
  • Succeeding with your Literature Review, Paul Oliver, @ 001.4 OLI  
  • The Good Research Guide, Martyn Denscombe @ 300.72 DEN

Good luck with your literature review!

Recommended Databases

Sage Research Methods: A research database featuring 986 book and reference titles, 344 journal articles; 75 exclusive videos; and Project Planner: guides users in planning their research project. For a complete guide to using this electronic resource check out the Sage Research Methods LibGuide.

Recommended Reading

Your Research Project by Nicholas Walliman (2011) at 001.42 WAL in the Research Collection 

Research Methods: The Basics by Nicholas Walliman (2018) at 001.42 WAL in the Research Collection 

The Good Research Guide by Martyn Descombe (2018) at 300.72 DEN in the Research Collection 

Doing Your Research Project: a guide for first-time researchers by Judith Bell and Stephen Waters (2018) at 300.72 DEN in the Research Collection 

How to Do your Research Project: a Guide for Students by Gary Thomas (2017) at 300.72 THO in the Research Collection 

Succeeding with your Master's Dissertation: a Step-by-Step Guide by John Biggam (2017) at 808.066 THO in the Research Collection